Interesting/Shocking facts that most of us don’t know about Indian Rupees,

  • 5,000 and 10,000 rupees notes were in circulation between 1954 and 1978.
  • After Independence, Pakistan used Indian Rupee notes stamped with ‘Pakistan’ until it could print enough.
  • One rupee notes are issued by the Ministry of Finance and bear the signature of the Secretary.
  • The rupee was the currency of several other countries like Aden, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the Trucial States, Kenya, Uganda, the Seychelles and Mauritius in the early 20th Century.
  • ₹500 and ₹1000 notes was banned in Nepal.  But, this ban was lifted in December 2013.
  • At one time, 5 rupee coins were smuggled to Bangladesh for making razors.
  • To type the symbol of the rupee, you need to press ‘Ctrl+Shift+$’.
  • Cost of minting a 10 ₹ coin is 6.10₹
  • Because of shortage, the RBI has been forced to mint coins in foreign countries in the past.
  • It is possible to find out which place a particular coin was minted at by determining the mark below the date of minting with this table :
  • Apart from Hindi and English which appear on the front side of a note, 15 other languages appear on the reverse side.
  • In  1917, the ₹ was mightier than the $. 1 ₹= 13 USD to be precise.
  • All notes carry an imprint of something Indian. Like the 20₹ note carries the imprint of the Andaman Islands.
  • Zero rupee notes were issued by the NGO 5th Pillar to fight corruption.

Source – Zero rupee note

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: